Bind My Wandering Heart to Thee


20120129-005819.jpg

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.
Robert Robinson (1757)

It’s amazing that the human condition has changed so little since 1757; words penned over 250 years ago are still utterly true of our hearts. So many decaying objects, shallow relationships, egocentric pursuits, pompous attitudes and fading glories tempt us and pull us from our true purpose.

“We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”
-C.S. Lewis

Dear God, please let the massive weight of your grace hold me still. May I be chained to Your creative purpose of love and service by Your self-sacrificing goodness. And Lord God, for all my days… bind my wandering heart to Thee.

So be it.

2 Comments

Filed under New Thoughts

2 responses to “Bind My Wandering Heart to Thee

  1. jerimi

    what chapter and verse from Lewis was that again? kidding….enjoying your blog

    • We Lewis-ites are working round the clock to bring the canon of his work together so chapter and verses will be arriving shortly on the scene to aid in our referencing of his truths!

Leave a Reply

