Beginning Again


It’s been one year and five days since my last blog post. It’s time to blog again, I feel. We’ll see how it goes. It’s hard for me to commit to something as pressing as a wordpress blog. It goes against my nature, I guess. So this go-round I’m going to try to say more with less words. Although, so far that plan is not going so well in this opening post. It took me 71 words to tell you I’m simplifying and, yes, I wasted the time to count the words.

Focus, Gary.

At Disney World Last Week

Here’s a joke that Ralph Warren sent me this morning:

There was a small town nestled in a valley that was powered by a dam. One day, the dam broke and flooded the valley. Naturally, everyone headed for higher ground. Once they all arrived, they began scanning the area for people or animals who needed help.

After a few hours of looking, it seemed that they were all safe, but then they could see a little straw hat bobbing downstream about 50 yards and then bobbing back upstream 50 yards. It then moved to the side and bobbed downstream and then back upstream and it kept repeating this.

Nobody could figure out why the hat was behaving so strangely. After they pondered this for awhile, a young boy recalled his granddad saying that come hell or high water, he was going to get the lawn mowed.

I think this is me and us. We make our plans of what to do and expect God to fit into them. Please God, give me a year of not doing that. It doesn’t seem to me that God’s intent is to show us what to do. It’s not even God’s intent to show us exactly what He plans to do. His intent is to show us who He is; to show us who we should be. Figure out who you are in Christ and what to do becomes much more clear.

God, help me stop planning what to do. Help me plan who to be.

5 Comments

Filed under New Thoughts

5 responses to “Beginning Again

  1. tsunaminokami

    Almost two years for me.

  2. Deb

    Welcome back! And just in the nick of time! Encouraging words…(all 71+ of them!)

  3. I’m trying to teach kids that we are NOT defined by what we do, what we control and what people think of us — I get into a lot of DOING at the expense of BEING — because I don’t practice what I preach. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Krystal Shetler

    Glad you’re back, friend. Your words, no matter how many, are always thought-provoking and enlightening.

Leave a Reply

