The Amish: A People of Preservation


click to enlarge

I’ve lived near Amish folks all my life here in southern Indiana. I’ve always been fascinated with them. In the past year or so, I’ve become friends with Big Sam, a well-known, local Amish farmer. I’ve always wanted an Amish friend and now I have one. Well, we’re not that close yet but I’ve got time!

This documentary was a neat little find on Netflix. I rated it at 4 out of 5 stars. It had good insight and interesting information but some of the footage was fairly old. The script was strong enough to carry the weak video footage. But the scenes of the barn raising alone make the movie worth watching!

Here’s what Netflix has to say:

This PBS documentary follows life in Amish country, where folks give up convenience and technological advancements in exchange for simple living, out of loyalty to their longstanding beliefs. With insight from Mennonite historian John Ruth and Dr. John A. Hostetler (author of Amish Society), learn how the Amish continue to thrive, and even grow in numbers, amidst the ever-changing world around them.

6 Comments

Filed under Movies

6 responses to “The Amish: A People of Preservation

  1. Krystal

    Will definitely have to rent that one. The disappointing part of these documentaries, however, is that they “document” Amish life, but Amish life varies so much that when we watch them we can only laugh. The way the Amish in this area live is quite different from the way they live elsewhere, making documentaries not so true to life. It’s hard to compare Amish who have refrigerators in their homes, for example, to our Amish. Of course, I get the pleasure of living with a “documentary” so I get a first-hand account.

  2. Deb

    Another one for the queue! As if Jordan has not already lined up over 200! Seriously!

    Or should I wait till Henry and Krystal release their version, ‘Amish Unleashed’?!

    Thanks for checking on me sitting on the curb the other day….I really didn’t want to end up in your blog about ‘Sites of Mitchell’….’Old Lady Lounging on a Curb on a Sunday Afternoon; Needed My Assistance’…..!On second thought, that would have been a real hoot!! Keep checking on me!! 😀

    • Haha! That would have made a good blog post for sure. Collin was highly concerned that we left you sitting there on the curb. A couple of dogs had barked at us about 2 blocks back. He was afraid they’d come scare you!!

  3. I was once talking w/a friend about difficulties of serving in the Church, and we got onto the topic of people who are stuck in their ways and refuse to change (and put up a good fight to keep things as they’ve always been). Then he mentioned the Amish in comparison, saying that at least w/the Amish, you can look at them and know that they’re not going to change with the times…b/c they’re lack of change is openly revealed. But (non-Amish) people in the Church don’t openly reveal themselves, and you often won’t know who they are until they’re already fighting you.

    Hey Gary, I’d like to invite you to check out my new site. It’s called “Dear Pastor Andy” (http://dearpastorandy.blogspot.com/) and is Christian Apologetics based with a Q&A format. I really think you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

