Into Great Silence


poster_largeby Gary

I want to recommend a film to you. I watched this documentary tonight. It was fascinating and profound.

Into Great Silence

It’s really worth watching if you can take the over 2 hours of almost complete silence. It really was a meditative experience to watch it.

It’s a look into the everyday lives of Carthusian monks of the Grande Chartreuse, high in a remote corner of the French Alps.

You can watch the trailer for the film on YouTube. Follow this link.

I got it from Netflix. Have any of the rest of you seen it?

2 Comments

Filed under Movies, New Thoughts

2 responses to “Into Great Silence

  1. Jason Petty

    Haven’t seen or heard of it. Loved the clip though! I would greatly benefit from this lifestyle for a year or so. I had something closer to it while in West Texas for a few months, and I was just getting in the groove of it when I had to come back.

    I think we’d all have a lot less to worry and fret over if we spent some serious time in solitude and meditation with God. In his undivided presence, everything else pales by comparison.

    I wonder if these guys blog? 🙂

  2. Jillena

    Gary,
    I watched this doc. this summer and would highly highly recommend it to anyone. The overall message I took from it is that if we get quiet enough, even the most simple things become the worship we offer up to God. Our challenge is to ge tthat quiet. My favorite part is at the end when they go sledding 🙂

    I have a friend who went to seminary and is still discerning whether or not to become a priest. His insights into the Cistersian order were really hlepful to me. He says that the happiest and most productive Cistercians are those with very gregarious and extroverted personalities. This surprised me at first, but then I thought about it. If you love people, then what more precious surrender is there for you to give than being with people in your outgoing and extroverted way? To give that up with joy, and to serve them in small and treasured ways and to pray for them , literally, without ceasing, instead–wow 🙂

Leave a Reply

