Quotes, Quips and Qualifiers


by Gary

It may say something about my personality that I love quotes. Possibly, it says that my weak mind can only process things in brief, sound-bite-sized fragments. But rather than fragmented, I’d like to consider myself broad minded enough to only need a narrow glimpse at the thoughts of others. That’s a joke of course but not a fat joke. In reality, I like quotes because they allow the luxury of taking a great thought from another person and putting it in my own context. With a quote, I’m not limited exclusively to the context in which is was written or spoken. I can also take its wisdom into my current situation or mind frame. And the type of quotes I like can give you good insight into my mind and help you qualify what’s important to me.

Also, this would be a great place for you to post your favorite quote in a comment. So look up your favorite quote, then cut and paste it into a comment for this blog. I’d love to see what speaks to you. And don’t think you’ll pick a quote that’s not worth sharing. We’ll read all quotes that will hold still long enough to be read: concise, witty, clever, sometimes pithy. I love them all.

Now that I have my all-too-verbose intro finished, I’ll finally move on to the laconic statements that I brought you here to read…

“Of this you can be certain: Jehovah, King of kings, and Lord of lords, is not pacing the corridors of heaven in confusion over the problems in your life. He hung the worlds in space. He can handle the burdens that have weighed you down, and He cares about you deeply.”

James Dobson from When God Doesn’t Make Sense

“A child kicks its legs rhythmically through excess, not absence, of life. Because children have abounding energy, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony. But perhaps God is strong enough… It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again,” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again,” to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike: it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them. It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we. ”

G.K. Chesterton

“The Church has no mission of its own. All we can have by ourselves is a club or a debating society; and our only hope, left to ourselves, is to win as many members for our own club and away from other clubs as we can. And whatever this is, it is not Mission. Mission belongs to God. The Mission was His from the beginning; it is His; it will always be His. He has His purposes from the foundation of the world, and the means to fulfill them; and the only part the Church has in this is obedience -a share in the eternal and life-giving obedience of the Son of God… And the most terrible judgment on the Church comes when God leaves us to our own devices because He is tired of waiting for our obedience — leaves us to be the domestic chaplains to a comfortable secular world — and goes Himself into the wilderness of human need and injustice and pain. This judgment does come on churches and nations, when they forget that God is in command, that He does the choosing.”

Stephen F. Bayne, Jr. (1908-1974) from An Anglican Turning Point

“Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.”

Garrison Keillor

“Sometimes we don’t need another chance to express how we feel or to ask someone to understand our situation. Sometimes we just need a firm kick in the pants. An unsmiling expectation that if we mean all these wonderful things we talk about and sing about, then lets see something to prove it.”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

“Some want to live within the sound of church or chapel bell; I want to run a rescue shop within a yard of hell.”

C. T. Studd (1860-1931)

“The kingdom of heaven is not come even when God’s will is our law; it is fully come when God’s will is our will.”

George Macdonald

All this flashy rhetoric about loving you.
I’ve never had a selfless thought since I was born.
I am mercenary and self-seeking
through and through:
I want God, you, all my friends,
merely to serve my turn.

Peace, re-assurance, pleasure, are the goals I seek,
I cannot crawl one inch outside my proper skin:
I talk of love–a scholar’s parrot may talk Greek–
But, self-imprisoned, always end where I begin.

C. S. Lewis, Collected Poems

“This Man (Jesus) suddenly remarks one day, ‘No one need fast while I am here.’ Who is this Man who remarks that His mere presence suspends all normal rules?”

C.S. Lewis

“God continually introduces us to people for whom we have no affinity, and unless we are worshipping God, the most natural thing to do is to treat them heartlessly, to give them a text like the jab of a spear, or leave them with a rapped-out counsel of God and go. A heartless Christian must be a terrible grief to Our Lord.”

Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

5 Comments

Filed under New Thoughts

5 responses to “Quotes, Quips and Qualifiers

  1. “I Live to Eat, not Eat to Live.” – Myself

  2. “True Godliness does not turn men out of the world, but enables them to live in it, and excites their efforts to mend it.”

    Richard Foster…my all time favorite.

  3. monkeedaddy

    Winston Churchill said, “It is a good thing for an uneducated man to read books of quotations.” That seems appropriate for this response, but I’ll leave the interpretation to you.

  4. monkeedaddy

    …but seriously, here’s a few of my favorites:

    “Live so that when your children think of fairness and integrity, they think of you.” –H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

    “Then he [Aslan, the Lion] isn’t safe?” said Lucy. “Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “Don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good.” –C.S. Lewis

    “Don’t blame the darkness for being dark. Blame the light for not shining into it.” –Craig Gross

    “We would have been lost had God not been patient. Let me put it to you in very blunt terms. For every person here praying, “Jesus, come quickly,” there is somebody praying, ‘Please don’t… My husband is still lost… My son is still lost… My grandchildren have not met Jesus… Don’t come yet. Give them time.’ ” –Patrick Mead

    “So likewise you, when you have done all those things which you are commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants. We have done what was our duty to do.’ ” –Luke 17:10

  5. Mike Mathews

    I too love quotes. Here are a few of my favorites:

    Let thy speech be better than silence, or be silent. ~Dionysus the Elder

    To all of us who hold the Christian belief that God is truth, anything that is true is a fact about God, and mathematics is a branch of theology. ~Hilda Phoebe Hudson

    I think, therefore I am. ~Rene DesCartes

    The laws of nature are but the mathematical thoughts of God. ~Euclid

    Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero. ~Horace

    If people do not believe that mathematics is simple, it is only because they do not realize how complicated life is. ~John Louis von Neumann

    Though I believe in liberalism, I find it difficult to believe in liberals. ~G.K. Chesterton

    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. ~Albert Einstein

    Nothing dumber than people. ~anonymous

Leave a Reply

