Birthday Blog


(As an ameture blogger, Mike thinks a birthday is a good time for some personal reflection and therefore a good time to post.)

Yesterday was my birthday.  It wasn’t a bad day.  I got to sleep in.  Then help Joni pick up the house a little before two guys came to install carpet in the living room and hallway.  Then later, my parents took us out to Casa Brava for dinner.  The night ended watching some Sweet Sixteen basketball.  Nothing special, just another day.  My parents called and sang “Happy Birthday” as did my 5 year-old niece, Alyssa.  Other than that, it was hard to tell that March 27th was anything other than normal. 

Birthdays tend to depress me.  I don’t want everyone to make a big deal out of me or my birthday, but I want the day to be extraordinary in some undefined way.   I should be able to go play basketball and hit almost everything.  If I want to go golfing, how dare it be rainy?  I feel that should be special, magical, wonderful days where the entire universe is aligned for me to be successful and happy (or at least content and comfortable).  One day a year, it should be all about me. How selfish.  That’s not how God wants me to live, even for one day.  Jesus’ example of how to live the perfect life doesn’t allow for other people to cater to me, even for one day.  Jesus taught that I’m supposed to die to self and live for Him and for others.  I’m to live as a servant to others, even on my birthday.  Trying to live for oneself leads to a depressed, unfulfilled life.  Living for others has the opposite effect:  success, joy and contentment (if not comfort and happiness) follow a life lived by God’s standard.

Too often, I’m living life like every day is my birthday.  If I were really following Jesus, I’d live everyday like it was my death-day. 

1 Comment

Filed under New Thoughts

One response to “Birthday Blog

  1. I like the reference to living as if it were your “death-day.”

Leave a Reply

